Wednesday, October 12, 2011



Los Angeles – The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced its Manager of the Year awards Wednesday, naming Arizona Diamondbacks' skipper Kirk Gibson in the National League, and the Tampa Bay Rays' Joe Maddon in the American League.
The IBWAA NL Executive of the Year award was won by Milwaukee Brewers' general manager Doug Melvin, with Rays' Executive Vice President of Baseball Operations Andrew Friedman winning in the AL.

Voting results are as follows:

NL Manager

1st Place: Kirk Gibson, Ariz
2nd Place: Ron Roenicke, Mil
3rd Place: Fredi Gonzalez, Atl

AL Manager

1st Place: Joe Maddon, TB
2nd Place: Jim Leyland, Det
3rd Place: Ron Washington, Tex

NL Executive

1st Place: Doug Melvin, Mil
2nd Place: Kevin Towers, Ariz
3rd Place: Ruben Amaro, Phil

AL Executive

1st Place: Andrew Friedman, TB
2nd Place: Dave Dombrowski, Det
3rd Place: Jon Daniels, Tex

The IBWAA wraps up its award season Friday with the naming of the 2011 Rollie Fingers American League Relief Pitcher of the Year and Hoyt Wilhelm National League Relief Pitcher of the Year awards.

The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 by Howard Cole, editor of and Dodger blogger for the Orange County Register, to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as an alternative voice to the BBWAA.

Among others, IBWAA members include Tim Brown, YahooSports; Fred Claire, former General Manager, Los Angeles Dodgers; Tony Jackson, Dodgers reporter,; Ben Maller, and Fox Sports Radio; David Pinto,; Mike Petriello,; and prominent baseball authors Peter Golenbock and Dan Schlossberg.

Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a yearly fee of $10. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available.

For more information on the IBWAA, please visit this page at,


Howard Cole
Director, IBWAA

No comments:

Post a Comment