Thursday, November 28, 2013



Los Angeles – The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners in its Most Valuable Player category Thursday, with the Pittsburgh Pirates’ Andrew McCutchen winning the writers group’s National League award, and Miguel Cabrera, of the Detroit Tigers, being selected in the American League.

Election results are as follows:


1st Place:                     Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates
2nd Place:                    Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks
3rd Place:                     Joey Votto, Cincinnati Reds
4th Place:                     Freddie Freeman, Atlanta Braves
5th Place:                     Matt Carpenter, St. Louis Cardinals
6th Place:                     Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers
7th Place:                     Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals
8th Place:                     Carlos Gonzalez, Colorado Rockies
9th Place:                     Hanley Ramirez, Los Angeles Dodgers
10th Place:                   Adrian Gonzalez, Los Angeles Dodgers


1st Place:                     Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers
2nd Place:                    Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
3rd Place:                     Chris Davis, Baltimore Orioles
4th Place:                     Josh Donaldson, Oakland Athletics
5th Place:                     Robinson Cano, New York Yankees
6th Place:                     Adrian Beltre, Texas Rangers
7th Place:                     David Ortiz, Boston Red Sox
8th Place:                     Adam Jones, Baltimore Orioles
9th Place:                     Dustin Pedroia, Boston Red Sox
10th Place:                   Evan Longoria, Tampa Bay Rays

The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January.

In 2010, the IBWAA began voting in its own relief pitcher category, establishing the Rollie Fingers American League Relief Pitcher of the Year and the Hoyt Wilhelm National League Relief Pitcher of the Year Awards.
Among others, IBWAA members include Kevin Baxter, Los Angeles Times; Barry Bloom, Chris Haft and Jim Thomas,; Thomas Bonk; Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Jim Bowden, Jim Caple, Mike Petriello, Mark A. Simon and David Schoenfield,; Ian Casselberry, Bloguin; Fred Claire, Jonah Keri, Grantland; Bruce Markusen, Hardball Times; Joe McDonnell,; Tom Hoffarth, J.P. Hoornstra and Jill Painter, Los Angeles Daily News; Tony Jackson,, Kevin Kennedy, Dayn Perry,, Ramona Shelburne,; and prominent baseball authors Paul Dickson, Peter Golenbock, Josh Pahigian, John Rosengren and Dan Schlossberg.

Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a yearly fee of $10, or $20 lifetime. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available.
For more information please visit

Howard Cole
Director, IBWAA

No comments:

Post a Comment