Thursday, November 28, 2013



Los Angeles – The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners in the relief pitcher category Friday, with the Atlanta Braves’ Craig Kimbrel winning the writers group’s National League Hoyt Wilhelm Relief Pitcher of the Year Award, and Greg Holland, of the Kansas City Royals, being selected as the American League Rollie Fingers Relief Pitcher of the Year.

The IBWAA established the relief pitcher awards in 2010. Kimbrel wins the award for the third consecutive year.

Election results are as follows:

AL Relief Pitcher

1st Place:                  Greg Holland, Kansas City Royals
2nd Place:                 Koji Uehara, Boston Red Sox
3rd Place:                  Joe Nathan, Texas Rangers

NL Relief Pitcher

1st Place:                  Craig Kimbrel, Atlanta Braves
2nd Place:                Aroldis Chapman, Cincinnati Reds
3rd Place:                  Kenley Jansen, Los Angeles Dodgers

Below is the remaining IBWAA Awards announcement schedule:

Rookie, Monday, November 11, 2013, 11:00 a.m. PST.
Manager, Tuesday, November 12, 2013, 11:00 a.m. PST.
Cy Young, Wednesday, November 13, 2013, 11:00 a.m. PST.
MVP, Thursday, November 14, 2013, 11:00 a.m. PST.

The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 by Howard Cole, of LA Weekly, to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January.

In 2010, the IBWAA began voting in its own relief pitcher category, establishing the Rollie Fingers American League Relief Pitcher of the Year and the Hoyt Wilhelm National League Relief Pitcher of the Year Awards.
Among others, IBWAA members include Kevin Baxter, Los Angeles Times; Barry Bloom, Chris Haft and Jim Thomas,; Thomas Bonk; Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Jim Bowden, Jim Caple, Mike Petriello, Mark A. Simon and David Schoenfield,; Ian Casselberry, Bloguin; Fred Claire, Jonah Keri, Grantland; Joe McDonnell,; Tom Hoffarth, J.P. Hoornstra and Jill Painter, Los Angeles Daily News; Tony Jackson,, Kevin Kennedy, Dayn Perry,, Ramona Shelburne,, and prominent baseball authors Paul Dickson, Peter Golenbock, Josh Pahigian, John Rosengren and Dan Schlossberg.

Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a yearly fee of $10, or $20 lifetime. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available.
For more information please visit

Howard Cole
Director, IBWAA

No comments:

Post a Comment