Wednesday, January 7, 2015


Los Angeles – In its 2015 Hall of Fame election the IBWAA selected Randy Johnson (with 98.24% of the vote), Pedro Martinez (95.15%), John Smoltz (82.82%), Jeff Bagwell (81.94%) and Tim Raines (79.30%). A 75% threshold is required for election.

Curt Schilling finished in sixth place, with 65.64%. Roger Clemens garnered 64.76% (after receiving 56.64% in 2014) and Barry Bonds received 63.44% (57.52% last year).

There are 338 members in the IBWAA, of which 227 voted in this election, both essentially doubling last year’s totals. 

Per a group decision in January, 2014, the IBWAA allows members to vote for 15 players, instead of the previous 10, beginning with this election. With their first opportunity to do so, 136 members voted for more than 10 candidates. Fifty-two members voted for 15 players. The average vote per member was 11.084.
The 2015 IBWAA Hall of Fame ballot compared identically to the BBWAA ballot, with the following exceptions:
1. Craig Biggio’s name did not appear on the IBWAA ballot because he was elected by the group in 2014. 

2. Mike Piazza’s name did not appear on the IBWAA ballot because he was elected by the group in 2013. 

3. Barry Larkin’s name did appear on the ballot because he has not reached the 75% threshold in an IBWAA election. 

Complete voting results are as follows:
Player                    Votes        Percentage 
Randy Johnson       223            98.24 
Pedro Martinez       216            95.15 
John Smoltz            188            82.82 
Jeff Bagwell           186            81.94 
Tim Raines             180            79.30 

Ballot tabulations by Brian Wittig & Associates. 
The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January.
In 2010, the IBWAA began voting in its own relief pitcher category, establishing the Rollie Fingers American League Relief Pitcher of the Year and the Hoyt Wilhelm National League Relief Pitcher of the Year Awards.  Among others, IBWAA members include Jim Bowden, Jim Caple, David Schoenfield, Mark A. Simon and Dan Szymborski,; Kevin Baxter Los Angeles Times; Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Craig Calcaterra, NBC Sports Hardball Talk; Bill Chuck,; Chuck Culpepper, Washington Post; Derrick Goold, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; King Kaufman, Bleacher Report; Kevin Kennedy, Kostya Kennedy, Sports Illustrated; Vlae Kershner,; Will Leitch, Sports on Earth; Bruce Markusen, Hardball Times; Ross NewhanDayn Perry and Matt Snyder,; Mark Purdy, San Jose Mercury News; Eno Sarris, FanGraphs; Tom Hoffarth and J.P. Hoornstra Los Angeles Daily News; Pedro Moura, Orange County Register; Neil Payne,, Tracy Ringolsby,, Ken Rosenthal,, Bob Ryan, Boston Globe, Jesse Spector, Sporting News and Tom Van Riper, Forbes.

Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a yearly fee of $20, or $35 lifetime. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available. Members must be 18 years of age to apply.  

For more information please visit  

Howard Cole 
Founding Director,