Sunday, July 28, 2019

Thurman's Army Show Up in Force at Old Timer's Day

Thurman's Army Show Up in Force at Old Timer's Day

Larry Schnapf
United States
JUN 26, 2019 — 
The Munson HOF Committee attended Old Timer's Day to mobilize support for the Munson HOF Campaign. Attendees received free Munson HOF T-shirts. Yankee Broadcaster Michael Kay encouraged those watching the game on TV to sign the petition.
The Munson HOF Committee is planning two more outings at Yankee Stadium on August 2nd and August 3rd. If you are interested in showing your support for Thurman, please let us know if you want to attend. we have reserved a block of seats for both games. tickets are $145. 
There will also be a Thurman Munson memorial rally between games on August 3rd at Macombs Dam Park. Look for further details here and at the Facebook Thurman Munson fan club page.

Friday, July 5, 2019

On 10th Anniversary IBWAA Names LA Times' Chris Erskine Honorary Chair

Los Angeles – In celebration of its 10th anniversary Thursday, the Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) is proud to announce the naming of Chris Erskine, columnist for the Los Angeles Times, as Honorary Chair of the organization.

Erskine has been writing about sports since 1978 and a baseball fan since long before that. A native of Chicago, he currently splits his time between the Chicago Cubs and the Dodgers of Los Angeles, where he currently resides. As Times columnist, he writes on Southern California, sports, travel and entertainment. He is the author of Daditude: The Joys & Absurdities of Modern Fatherhood.

Erskine, who succeeds Stacey Gotsulias, baseball writer for Baseball Prospectuas, as the organization’s sixth honorary chair, will announce the results of each IBWAA election via social media and generally champion the group’s efforts during a one-year term. His successor will be named on July 4, 2020. Previous honorary chairs include The Athletic's Jim Caple;’s David Schoenfield; Dayn Perry, of and Tom Hoffarth, of the Los Angeles Times.

The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January.

Among others, IBWAA members include Jim Bowden, Caple, Pedro Moura, Ken Rosenthal and Eno Sarris, The Athletic; Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Bill Chuck,; Chris De Luca, Chicago Sun-Times; Jon Heyman,; Tyler Kepner, New York Times; Danny Knobler, Bleacher Report; Kevin Kennedy; Kostya Kennedy, Sports Illustrated; Brian Kenny, MLBN; Will Leitch, New York Magazine; Bruce Markusen, Hardball Times; Ross Newhan; Dayn Perry and Matt Snyder,; J.P. Hoornstra Los Angeles Daily News; Tom Hoffarth, Los Angeles Times; Tracy Ringolsby,; David Schoenfield,; and Bill Arnold.

Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a $75 lifetime fee. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available.For more information please visit

Howard Cole
Founding Director, IBWAA