Tuesday, October 18, 2011



Los Angeles – The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced its relief pitcher awards Friday, naming Atlanta Braves' Craig Kimbrel the Hoyt Wilhelm National League Relief Pitcher of the Year, and the Detroit Tigers' Jose Valverde the Rollie Fingers American League Relief Pitcher of the Year. The awards were created for the IBWAA in 2010.

Voting results are as follows:

NL Relief:
1st Place:                  Craig Kimbrel, Atl
2nd Place
:                 John Axford, Mil
3rd Place:                  J.J. Putz, Ariz

AL Relief:
1st Place:                  Jose Valverde, Det
2nd Place
:                 Mariano Rivera, NYY
3rd Place:                 Jonathan Papelbon, Bos

With the Relief Pitcher of the Year announcements, the IBWAA has concluded its 2011 award season. Below is a full list of all the winners.

NL MVP – Matt Kemp, LAD
AL MVP – Curtis Granderson, NYY

NL Cy Young – Clayton Kershaw, LAD
AL Cy Young – Justin Verlander, Det (unanimous)

NL Rookie of the Year – Craig Kimbrel, Atl
AL Rookie of the Year – Mark Trumbo, LAA; Ivan Nova, NYY (tie)

NL Manager of the Year – Kirk Gibson, Ariz
AL Manager of the Year – Joe Maddon, TB

NL Executive of the Year – Doug Melvin, Mil
AL Executive of the Year – Andrew Friedman, TB

NL Comeback Player of the Year – Lance Berkman, StL
AL Comeback Player of the Year – Jacoby Ellsbury, Bos

NL Hoyt Wilhelm Relief Pitcher of the Year – Craig Kimbrel
AL Rollie Fingers Relief Pitcher of the Year – Jose Valverde

The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 by Howard Cole, editor of BaseballSavvy.com and Dodger blogger for the Orange County Register, to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as an alternative voice to the BBWAA.

Among others, IBWAA members include Tim Brown, YahooSports; Fred Claire, former General Manager, Los Angeles Dodgers; Tony Jackson, Dodgers reporter, ESPNLosAngeles.com; Ben Maller, ThePostGame.com and Fox Sports Radio; David Pinto, BaseballMusings.com; Mike Petriello, MikeSciosciasTragicIllness.com; and prominent baseball authors Peter Golenbock and Dan Schlossberg.

Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a yearly fee of $10. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available.

For more information on the IBWAA, please visit this page at BaseballSavvy.com,


Howard Cole
Director, IBWAA

No comments:

Post a Comment