Monday, November 16, 2015


Los Angeles – The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners in its relief pitcher category Sunday, with the New York Yankees’ Andrew Miller winning the 2015 IBWAA Rollie Fingers American League Relief Pitcher of the Year award, and Mark Melancon, of the Pittsburgh Pirates, being selected as the 2015 IBWAA Hoyt Wilhelm National League Relief Pitcher of the Year.
Miller received 58 first-place votes (33.14%) and 414 points while being named on 124 of 175 ballots (68.89%). Others receiving first-place votes include Dellin Betances (49), Wade Davis (34) and Huston Street (11).
Melancon received 84 first-place votes (47.73%) and 517 points while being named on 125 of 176 ballots (69.44%). Others receiving first-place votes include Aroldis Chapman (46), Trevor Rosenthal (24) and Jeurys Familia (15).
Election results are as follows:
AL Reief Pitcher:
1st Place:                  Andrew Miller, New York Yankees – 414 points
nd Place:                 
Dellin Belances, New York Yankees – 372 
3rd Place
Wade Davis, Kansas City Royals – 306
NL Relief Pitcher:
1st Place:                  Mark Melancon, Pittsburgh Pirates – 517 points
nd Place:                 
Trevor Rosenthal, St. Louis Cardinals – 359 
3rd Place
:                  Aroldis Chapman, Cincinnati Reds – 312
Ballot tabulations by Brian Wittig & Associates, using the Borda Method.
The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January.
The relief pitcher awards were established in 2010.
Among approximately 400 others, IBWAA members include Jim Bowden, Jim Caple, David Schoenfield and Mark A. Simon of; Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Craig Calcaterra, NBC Sports Hardball Talk; Bill Chuck,; Derrick Goold, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; King Kaufman, Bleacher Report; Kevin Kennedy; Kostya Kennedy, Sports Illustrated; Will Leitch, Sports on Earth; Bruce Markusen, Hardball Times; Ross Newhan; Dayn Perry and Matt Snyder,; Mark Purdy, San Jose Mercury News; Tom Hoffarth and J.P. Hoornstra Los Angeles Daily News; Pedro Moura, Orange County Register; Tracy Ringolsby,; Ken Rosenthal,; Eno Sarris, FanGraphs; Dan Schlossberg, USA Today; Jesse Spector, Sporting News and Wendy Thurm.
Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a yearly fee of $20, or $35 lifetime. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available. Members must be 18 years of age to apply.

For more information please visit


Howard Cole
Founding Director, IBWAA

No comments:

Post a Comment